Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    On My Own Again

    June 3, 2022 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    Remember when I had reservations about the girls going out last night? Well mommy was right again. They loudly tip toed in at 3:30 AM and check out the picture at 9:00 AM. We do manage to get out of the house on time. The girls take me to port for me to catch my ferry to Naxos and they go to the airport to fly to Athens.

    I have plenty of time to wait for my ferry so I settle in and have some lunch. I am at the same restaurant where we came in and the same gentleman is serving me. I start a pair of socks, chat with some people and eat some really nice food. I get on the ferry and settle in for a 2-hour ride. I am on Blue Star ferries this time. It is very nice and has nice plush seats with tables. I enjoy the ride and debark at Naxos. I get a message from the girls saying they have landed in Athens okay and are at their place.

    Next up is to get a car. The place I’m staying at is outside the city and I will need it for transportation. I end up with a Citroen C1. It is a convertible (I’m not a fan) and it is a cute little car. They have cars here that are both manual and automatic. I don’t know how to describe them. They don’t have a park gear, so you have to use the hand brake when you park. A little different but okay.
    I plug in the address on my phone and proceed to get lost in the down town of Naxos city. The link on the website is not correct. After my host sends me the correct one; off I go to see my new place. Driving in Greece is a little different. You can’t read the signs (all Greek to me, Ha, Ha) and you have to rely on Google maps. The roads here (so far) are not the switchbacks that we had in Santorini. However, I do get to go down a couple of dirt roads to get to my place.

    I am right on the sea again and you can hear the waves crashing along the shore line. I get here at about 8:00 PM and head out for groceries before the store closes. My host here is really good at sending me a couple of links to grocery stores. I head off and get lost again. Turn around in someone’s driveway, make a couple more wrong turns but make it to the store. My staples here are cheese, olives, yogurt, sliced meats, coffee, milk and wine. Back home I go and am pretty proud of myself for not getting lost on the way home.

    My place is basically a studio but with a really nice bathroom. There is no sitting area inside but there is a table and chairs outside. The bed is comfy and it has all I need. The area is quiet and the views are gorgeous. I have a neighbour beside me named Chris. He is somewhere around mid 60’s and is a Greek who moved to Belgium in 2017. Before you jump to conclusions, his girlfriend is joining him in a couple of weeks. I unpack my stuff and head off to bed.
    Read more