Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Walk Around Town

    June 3, 2022 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    New day, new adventures. Actually, today was part maintenance day and part fun. Let me tell about it. After a wonderful nights sleep, (I think this is the most comfortable bed) I started my day with a beautiful morning coffee on the patio. I caught up on a couple of the blogs. I ran out of international phone call minutes so I needed to get reloaded. I also was in dire straights to get my nails done. (Yeah, I know, that was a girly statement)

    I found a Vodaphone store and reloaded my minutes. I got 400 minutes for 17.00 Euros. (Uh Canada, you hearing this???) The gentleman at the store was very nice (as are all the Greeks, it seems). He also found me a clip for my phone that goes in the car vent for when I’m using Google Maps. (That is every time I leave the driveway!) So far driving has been good. I get lost but I seem to get out of it okay. They use a lot of round abouts here and I don’t think I’ve seen a stoplight yet.

    Next up was getting my nails done. I found a salon called Green Hair Salon, not far from the Vodaphone store and she could take me today. I was early so I stopped next door for a frappe and a chocolate croissant. The lady at the salon was very nice and did a wonderful job on my nails. As we are talking, I find out that there is no rain in the summer here only in the winter. Also, Naxos has a large population (10,000 residents) so they don’t shut down in the winter like some of the other islands. My nails are done and I should be good for a couple of weeks now.

    Back home for a siesta and then I head out to see the castle. Yep, they have a castle here. It is in Old Town (surprise!). I find a place to park in a public parking lot. They are free and they seem to have quite a few around town. Probably trying to keep all the tourists in one place ;>) I put a local establishment into the GPS so I can find the car again, then head off on foot. The way is all up hill and so that chocolate croissant is worn off. After what seems like 30 minutes, but is actually only 12 minutes I make it to Old Town. The castle is not what I expected. It is a castle but they have parsed it out to shops and homes. So, you don’t get the authentic ‘castle’ experience. The churches we locked up so I couldn’t get any inside pictures.

    After my walk around it is time for dinner. I stop at a place called Gemma Naxian Bar. Looked nice and it had shade! I order some potato pancakes that are filled with cheese and vegetables. They are served with a sour cream type dressing to dip them in. That with some lemon aid and I’m good. As I’m having dinner, they start to bring out the hookah vessels. No, I didn’t know that this was a hookah bar when I sat down. No, I did not partake.

    Now I have to get back to the car and get home. It seems like the walk is up hill again??? By the time I make it home, I have time for a quick shower, a glass of wine and enjoy a beautiful sunset.

    Good night, all.
    Read more