Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Crossing the Border Cambodia / Thailand

    July 20, 2023 in Cambodia ⋅ ☁️ 31 °C

    As I said, I don't like border crossings in the country. You leave in one country and then you are walking in this no man's land... Until you stand at the door of the next country and have to ask for entry. The uniforms and security checks make me uncomfortable. Arbitrariness is everywhere.... After 3.5 drive we reached the border. The place is terrible. It stinks, is dirty and the buildings on the Cambodia side look terrible.

    It took me just under half an hour to exit and enter the country. It has no tourists and the border controls are empty.

    So I arrived after 4 hours in Thailand!

    Info to exit Cambodia
    For the exit you need a 2nd copy of the e-visum. A printout at the border costs about 10 dollars. You should also have all the documents that you received from the immigration office with you. Especially if you entered the country with a visa. The time needed between exit and entry can take up to 3 hours.
    I tried again with my dollar in my passport.... But the official does not like it and gives me the money back.

    Info about entry Thailand
    When entering Thailand you have to fill out some documents. As a Swiss tourist I can get my visa on arrival for 29 nights free of charge. In winter when I will stay for 5weeks, I will need a "real" visa and apply for it at the Thai embassy in Bern
    Read more