Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Airport +Pier Trat/Ferry Koh Chang

    July 26, 2023 in Thailand ⋅ ☁️ 30 °C

    It was hard for me to leave my small apartment in BKK.
    And I was much too early at the airport.
    Like everywhere currently in Thailand, it has almost no tourists. Also the traffic was ok. I ordered a cab via Grab and needed from Ekkamai to Suvarnabhumi just under 40 minutes. With luggage and early in the morning I did not feel like taking the BTS.
    Online check in and baggage check took less than 5 minutes. The security check another 10 minutes. So I was already 1h after departure from the apartment at the gate.

    Today would have been originally my flight home. Unexpectedly I have the luck to have next month also still free. And therefore I dropped the return flight and bought a ticket to Trat instead. Bangkok-Airways flies to this idyllic airport. The airport is not much more than open bamboo buildings. There is a tiny open waiting area where the airport staff hands you your suitcase directly. There were not 20 passengers on the plane.
    For 2000 Baht, which is about 50 CHF /Euro I saved myself a long bus ride. On the approximately 1 hour flight, there was even a warm Malzeit, water and cafe!
    Destination was Koh Chan. Directly behind the waiting area you can find minivans that take you from the airport to the pier, then onto the ferry and on Koh Chan directly to your accommodation.
    This for about 500Baht. (CHF/Euro 12.-)
    Read more