Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Singapore arrival!

    August 30, 2015 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Well after my first proper long haul flight we are in Singapore! I managed to sleep a little om the plane and the 10 hours wasn't as awful as it could have been. (Flying in over a Malaysian sunrise was also quite cool). The taxi ride from the airport to our Intercontinental hotel was interesting: streets lined with beautiful plants, flowers and garden arrangements; contrasting cultures, people, accents and buildings zooming past and the unbelivable sticky hot humid air that sems to be forever present in Singapore, like walking into a massive sauna. I was surprised by the contrast between the obviously affuent and bustling city and the poorer areas that still lines the streets on the way to the city, an ever present reminder that every country has its social issues, as was also outlined by our charming, loud, friendly and mildly xenophobic taxi driver.
    Our hotel is gorgeous and I have 2 double beds to myself separate from the rentals with a beautiful bathroom, massive TV and stunning views. The famous Bugis is connected to our hotel so I imagine that will be our first stop of many today. We have already been recommended a place to get amazing spices wholesale, and a place that does wonderful Sardine Murtabaks. That aside I'm sure we will eat well and sample a plethora of different cultures in our next 36 hours here. I am looking forward to walking along the river and taking in more of my first proper - although decidedly western - foreign city.
    My tablet and phone say it's 12:15 yet my bedroom clock says 8:15. Must be breakfast time... Intercontinental style.
    Read more