Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Budapest, Finale Day 13

    November 2, 2015 in Hungary ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    Poor Georges is still sick. He wanted to sleep in. So I was free to go out with Janet. She's been talking about going to the baths which interested me before the trip and so we agreed we'd regret not going, since its a Budapest highlight. We chose the Geller Baths, supposedly renowned for the decades old tiled rooms and stained glass ceilings. Those didn't disappoint. We enjoyed the outdoor hot pool& sauna and moved indoors to the steam room and two hot tubs, each progressively hotter. We could use the large cold water pool without wearing bathing caps, which was fine by me.

    Janet was quite thrilled with it all and so I'm glad for her sake. I wasn't so impressed. I didn't like the crowds, although we always could sit. I did wonder about the sanitation, and hope I didn't pick up anything. And so now I won't leave Hungary, feeling I'd missed out.

    Afterwards we went to the nearby central market where I bought foie gras and truffles, which were unbelievably inexpensive. Returning to the hotel about I was surprised Georges was still in bed. He had thought he'd take a ride on the Ferris wheel in the park across from our hotel, something which makes me claustrophobic and avoid. And then he was going to visit the synagogue museum. But he just didn't have the energy.

    He rallied a bit for a walk to a kitchen store where I bought spatzel makers, like Georges mother used. And we had an early dinner in the hotel...one last treat of pur favorite dishes.. Pumpkin soup, goose liver with mushroom risotto and goulash soup. I have to find a recipe for that. Georges had it several times during this trip.

    Then Georges crashed (in bed) and I packed. Don't think for a minute that he wheedled our of packing. I'm worried that he's still fluish and I prefer to do the packing anyway. Its an engineering feat to get everything into the suitcases, and I really didn't buy much. Glad I resisted the leather bags at the marketplace. When something is too cheap I get suspicious...And Janet agreed. At my point in life I should buy because a really love it. I own too many things that "were good buys."
    Read more