Спутник
Показать на карте
  • День 45

    Jacaranda festival

    1 ноября 2022 г., Австралия ⋅ 🌙 20 °C

    We endured the shortcomings of the site for the night, but a grey wet start put an even duller complexion things.

    My shower was a Russian roulette affair, with me trying not to make contact with the sides of the very cramped cubicle (the third one I’d tried, for various reasons). This, plus the prospect of another squashed in night (and let’s not forget the dank loos) sealed the park’s fate. They had our cash, so it was no skin off their nose for us to leave for the day - never to return…….

    The rain began to clear by mid morning and we made our way to See Park one of many, many places where the jacarandas were doing their ‘blooming’ thing.

    The trees were full of very beautiful mauve/lilac coloured blossoms with a delicate sweet scent, which permeated the place. The earlier downpours had agitated a number of flowers, creating a frothy carpet, almost like a reflection of each tree.

    We had a break from the blooms for lunch, and booked another camp for tonight. I did feel slightly guilty - but then relived the failings of the ‘amenities’ in my mind and gave it no more thought.

    We arrived at our new, improved site. What a difference! We have green space, clean everything, the good standard we’d grown used to - right choice to move here.

    Part of the festival includes lighting up the jacarandas once it gets dark. So we drove back to See Park, and waited for nighttime to fall, which it does really fast, around 7.30pm.

    Worth having a delayed dinner for! Lovely atmosphere and the frothy blooms take on a different texture in the twilight.

    MIA…?
    A couple of days ago I lost my fave white jersey shirt. The one I wear when the sun sears my skin (after about 5 mins). I couldn’t remember when I last saw it, what I’d done with it, when I’d worn it, where I could have left it, why I couldn’t see it when we left our accom etc. I riffled through bags, cupboards, brain cells. Nada.

    I rang the site asking if it had been found in the cabin - no. I was cross with myself and puzzled, but knew I had to move on from my loss (it was hard).

    Today I was getting something out of the rucksack we use every day and there was my shirt, scrunched up in the back pocket. Stunned, bemused, relieved and reunited.
    Читать далее