Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Quick visit in Glasgow

    April 18, 2018 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 12 °C

    I’m not a big fan of the selfie stick. We have a lot of pictures of ourselves with me and what looks like a fake smile in front of whatever church, castle, monument, boat, shopping centre, or cutout celebrity that is on hand. If I don’t smile enough for Dianne’s satisfaction, we take another pic. That being said, I don’t think I was the last person to have our missing selfie stick.

    We took the train to Glasgow this morning on our way to Fort William. We had enough time in Glasgow to go shopping for a new selfie stick. The last one I purchased in China at the Pearl market. It was very inexpensive. So much so that I thought there was no chance of getting a poorer quality version. I was wrong. We were able to find a shorter, less functional version, making me long for the old stick. We also picked up a couple of sandwiches for the rest of the journey.

    As I write we are training through the Scottish highlands. The scenery is spectacular with hilltops obscured by cloud. Some snow in the higher elevations, and early spring emerging everywhere around us. We fit in with the granola crowd on this train. We have our hiking shoes and layered clothing along with our backpacks and my weathered old man face for a selfie.
    Read more