Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Off Piste

    January 21, 2020 in Austria ⋅ 🌙 2 °C

    Our plan today is for Dianne and I split up and ski with other skiers closer to our respective abilities. As we parted company this morning I am convinced I will not see her again all day.
    The local ringer, Deiter, is going to guide what turns out to a big group of folks who consider themselves expert enough to keep up to him. I think I qualify.

    Our initial hoard consists of 8 pretty good skiers, and we do a couple of fast runs from the top to warm up before we rendezvous with Deiter and some others at 9:30. When we all get together, we number around 12. Jim Egglestone, John Wilkes and I are the oldest, and everyone else is about 10 to 30 years younger. Deiter takes us off piste from the start, which means we have to ski over the 18 inch wall that develops from the grooming machines making the groomed trails I have previously complained about. One down now as Scott breaks a pole getting over the wall.

    This new terrain isn’t as steep as some I’ve skied but the snow is deep and not skied out. There are some good turns to be had here. Trees are widely spaced and it seems that nobody skis here because there are not too many tracks. There are some steep pitches and by the time we make it down to the lift I’m breathing hard. Deiter is kind enough to wait for the group at various spots along the way and I stick close so as to not get lost. We go up the lift again with the group intact.
    When we get to the top, I see Dianne getting off the chair lift with some other girls. I did not expect that. She looks a little rattled as she is afraid of heights, but still game. We speak briefly and I say I have to go because this group doesn’t wait for me. We are on our way to a new mountain. I don’t think I’ll see her again until I get to the hotel.

    The route to Hauser Kaibling is mostly off piste and there are some moguls on the way. They are the friendly kind of moguls, nicely spaced, not too tall, and soft. I really enjoyed them. The group is thinning out now. “Attrition”Jim calls it, but he and John are still there. We take 5 different lifts to get to Hauser Kaibling and what turns out to be the holy grail of what I like to ski. It is a shaded stretch of nicely spaced trees on varying terrain in soft deep snow. Everyone left in the group, about six of us can ski powder, only some faster than others. When we get to the bottom, Deiter tells those of us left that there is an assortment of groomers around if we are interesting. Jim says to me “ it looks like he’s saying goodbye”. When we get to the top of the lift Deiter is gone. On the way up though we connect with Sandra, Heather and another female first officer who’s name I forgot. They were guided by Deiter to this mountain yesterday, so the six of us continue to ski this most excellent pitch until lunch. When we stop for lunch, and are looking for a table, Sandra says to me “I just saw Dianne, that’s your wife right”? I can hardly believe it, but it’s true Dianne is here. She is sipping a coke with the girls she was skiing with. I’m so amazed and tired from the mornings activities I decide I’m skiing the rest of the day with her.
    Read more