Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    No Dianne, you can’t ride a camel

    October 15, 2022 in Egypt ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    After breakfast we met up with our local Cairo guide, Islam. We met in the hotel lobby at 8 am, which isn’t really an early hour, but we were dragging our butts a bit from jet lag. The first stop is the Pyramids of Giza. You can see the pyramids shortly after crossing the Nile river into Giza. The road to the pyramids circles the impressive structures as you approach so the view gets better and better. We both agreed that they are not disappointing. There was some disappointment to be had though as Dianne is still looking to get a Camel ride. This desire dates back to at least 2017, when she first mentioned it to me on a boat trip to Dubai. We put it off several times on that trip due to timing and inconvenience. On the trip to India I promised her a ride on a camel and we even went to a Camel rodeo. It didn’t work out that time, due to cultural considerations. Our camel care giver could not abide a woman riding a camel while I lounged in the cart behind. Today there are camels for rent, but they come by the hour and I don’t want to ride a camel. I don’t find them friendly enough. I could not see renting a camel for what would probably a five minute ride for Dianne and me having to go for the next 55 just to get my money’s worth. Dianne will have another chance to ride a camel in Morocco. Our friend Annie said so. For now there is just disappointment and desire.Read more