Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    House of Horus

    October 19, 2022 in Egypt ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Our trip to Edfu. We are met by horse drawn carriages for a ride to Edfu temple. The hour is 6 am and there are locals selling souvenirs, and donkey carts delivering goods among the throng of carriages. Akmed our driver navigates the back alleys through construction pot holes, cats, dogs, dust and some buildings in disrepair to Edfu temple. While waiting in line for Mohamed our guide to purchase tickets a smooth talking roper establishes a relationship with our group. We are two couples from Monterey Mexico and one couple of Canadians. Adam, the roper hears Spanish being spoken and converses eloquently in Spanish with Patricia and Arturo, placing a head scarf on Arturo’s head. Somehow he knows we have a gala on board the boat tonight and will need some Arab dressings for the occasion.. Patricia explains to us in English how Adam remarked about Arturo being guapo, Spanish for handsome. Now I get a head scarf and Adam talks to Dianne and I in perfect English. He is smooth, giving out more insignificant gifts like scarab beetles for luck, while securing a promise to return after we visit the temple.

    The temple is incredible, and more about that in another footprint.

    After we finished, we return to Adams store, with the intent of buying a nice outfit for our Egyptian themed gala tonight. Smooth talking Adam is there, but he is not who you deal with when it comes to buying and negotiating prices. Dianne has made sure I only have my allowance of 400 Egyptian pounds. When we establish an outfit for Dianne and myself, we start negotiating. My first outfit was too expensive for me so I set my sights on something more affordable. Dianne becomes a big part now because she knows my history of bargaining. He wants 650 for both our outfits and I start at 300. I’ve already screwed myself and Dianne knows it. She say no and my Arab friend says 600. I respond 400 and Dianne is shooting daggers from her eyes and saying no. Dianne responds 250 and my friend has figured out who has the real money. He comes down to 500 and I repeat 400. Dianne isn’t happy, but I’m thinking we need these new outfits so I start to try and get Dianne to come up in price. My efforts are not well received. Dianne says three, I say four, he wants five. We settle on four, conveniently all my allowance. I have no more money, but we have nice outfits for tonight. Our guide shows up with the last couple, Rodrigo and Christina, Patricia and Arturo have made purchases as well and when we tell Mohamed our guide what we paid, he gives me only a b- in negotiating skills. Average. The ride back to the boat is entertaining again and I get more lessons in bargaining from Dianne. The first concept is do not bargain for the seller.
    Read more