Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Finding a taxi!

    March 15 in Hungary ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    There is no Uber in Budapest. My preferred way of arranging transportation is useless here. We left our accommodation with an address for the boat we are about to board and have a location displayed on the phone. A taxi we find on our street says today is a a busy day due to the National holiday. Go to the corner and wait he says, five or ten minutes. We do, but nothing happens. After about 15 minutes we walk to the next corner where a boutique hotel is located. The man at the front desk has a cab for us before I can get back outside. We give the address and the location from our phone. The driver explains that we will have to walk a ways due to road closures on the National holiday.

    Off we go on a route that parallels the river, but has no view of the river. In what seems far too short of a ride he declares “ we are here.” I disagree, showing him our location in reference to a bridge I can see, but he assures me I am mistaken and we are really closer than I think we are. We pay him, get out, and off he goes. Once we get in view of the river there is no boat, no band, no welcoming committee, nothing. We schlep our rolling circus another half mile down river until we find the boat. Still no band, but there is someone to take our luggage and guide on board.
    Read more