Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Perfect first day

    August 2, 2023 in France ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Today was such a beautiful day! I got a good nights rest in my private room in Saint Jean and started walking around 7:45. The first part of the walk is stunning with the views of the Pyrenees. I’m glad I have experience hiking because it was a steady incline the whole way. I was worried my pack would be too heavy with water and food added, but thankfully it fits well and the weight sits on my hips the way it’s supposed to. And after MUCH deliberation, I’m very happy to have gone with my hiking shoes. They’re sturdy and my feet don’t feel sore after the first day.

    It’s been pleasant to connect with different pilgrims along the way, share a few words and then gradually drift as our walking paces differ. I look forward to seeing familiar faces along the way.

    Tonight I’m staying at a converted farm house half way up the Pyrenees. There will be a communal pilgrim dinner tonight with the other pilgrims staying the night. I’m feeling excited for the rest of the journey and grateful for all the planning I did to get me here!

    Thank you for all your love and support!
    Read more