Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Initiation in rain

    August 3, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    One question I had coming into the Camino was how it would feel to walk in the rain. I found out today! Today was my second day going up the Pyrenees, and it was rainy, windy, and cold. A friend I met at the hostel last night and I exchanged numbers in the morning to make sure we both made it to the next town safely. There were a few different spots on the trail where you had to turn one way and not another or you’d be in trouble. As the hostel owner put it, “Right is life, left is death.” Since going off the trail in the Pyrenees in bad weather is basically the setup for the movie, The Way, I was a bit nervous. Thankfully my way-finding skills are good and I was able to either follow other pilgrims or look out for the intermittent yellow arrows along the trail.

    Todays distance was 10.5 miles and I definitely felt it in my feet by the time I got to town. I went through all 4 pairs of my socks trying to keep my feet dry in the rain. I changed my socks a second time and put Vaseline on my feet to keep my wet feet from getting blisters. My toes were pruny by the time I got to my room, but thankfully no blisters!

    Now I’m settling into my room to rest my feet and wait for a pilgrim dinner later tonight and a service at the church that they do every night as a pilgrim’s blessing. Hoping for dry weather tomorrow!
    Read more