Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Day of rest

    August 6, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    I decided to take a rest day today to give my body and spirit a break. It felt important to give my legs a chance to recover from the physical demands of the Camino and take some time to reflect on my first few days. I explored the old part of Pamplona in the morning and then took a taxi to Puenta la Reina.

    One of my goals coming to the Camino was to listen to my body, so I’m glad I heeded the signals to rest rather than feeling an undo sense of obligation to walk every mile. A friend who hiked the Appalachian trail told me they have a motto, “Hike your own hike.” I’m reminding myself to, “Walk my own Camino” and not compare it to others’. It’s humbling to stop when I need to stop even as others are speeding onward. It seems like a good lesson to take with me.
    Read more