Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Reconsidering options

    August 7, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Perhaps not surprisingly, this is turning out to be a harder thing to do than I anticipated. I planned and prepared as much as I could, but it’s different being here and navigating the unexpected challenges each day. I forwarded my heavier pack today using a transport service and just carried a small packable daypack with water and essentials. I was able to keep up a faster walking pace without my full pack and my knee didn’t feel as strained. Walking 13ish miles still takes time, though.

    Unfortunately, I ended up with new blisters and they’re becoming increasingly uncomfortable as they build in the same area on the ball of my foot. The next few days are going to be extremely hot - close to 100 degrees. I was planning to leave in the early morning tomorrow to try to beat the heat by midday, but that doesn’t seem like it will be possible. I tried walking into town to get food for tomorrow at a grocery store but all the shops seem to be closed for a town festival they’re holding tonight. Apparently every town in Spain has a weekend when they hold a festival celebrating the town. They had one in Zubiri and none of the pilgrims slept as they played loud music from the plaza until 5am.

    I’m doing everything I can to adjust and figure out how to keep walking without injuring myself or being too miserable. I’m going to have to seriously reconsider the timeline I have to work with and whether this pilgrimage really feels like a good fit for me and what I was hoping for from the experience. I can’t keep up with the timeline suggested in the guidebooks that I used to set my itinerary (I have some 17 mile days coming up, which feels impossible in 100 degree heat). I’m considering my options and allowing myself to accept that maybe I don’t want to do this after all. We’ll see how I feel tomorrow. I’m considering finding my way to Sarria, doing the last 100k at a leisurely pace, getting my certificate and using the rest of my vacation time however I please.
    Read more