Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Haputale

    December 16, 2021 in Sri Lanka ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Haputale, 2:30pm

    Finally a bit of Sun! I woke up in Ella to take the 6:40 train to Haputale. It was much emptier than what I'd expect, so after accomodating myself in a 3rd-class carriage I strated enjoying the morning light in the hilly countryside. The ride was roughly an hour and the views were increasingly better as we approached Haputale. I was the only white person who hopped off here, though I didn't see many tourists on the train; none in 3rd-class. Once in this trading village I jumped on a tuk-tuk to go drop off my backpack in the guest house I'm staying. Immediately after we hurried up to Lipton's seat, as fog usually shows up around midday. Had a nice chat with the driver.

    Lipton's seat itself is a bit disappointing but the ride up was very picturesque. After a little -and cheap- breakfast break up there, I started my long way back on foot. An insane 18 km walk through tea plantations.

    The first part of the journey was sunny and you could really feel Mr. Thomas Lipton colonial lifestyle. The second part of the walk I passed by some Tamil settlements and I discovered how hinduism, catholicism and buddhism share the same space. I was a true stranger in those poor 'villages' but everybody was very friendly. Some villagers were not-insistingly begging for money, but the most of them just smiled and said "Hello!". The last part of the walk was closer to Haputale and the atmosphere changed drastically as the mist started coming up from the forest. It was otherwise beatiful and magic.

    I was quite tired when I arrived back in town, so after checking the train timetable for tomorrow I found myself a place to eat. I ordered chop suey, but the best was the panoramic view I had over tea plantations.

    I've just arrived to my guesthouse, taken a hot shower, met the family I'm staying with and I'm now ready to chill out a bit and enjoy a freshly prepared juice with some vistas.

    Haputale, 9pm

    I spent the foggy, rainy evening in the guesthouse, reading in the tea-styled living room and planning ahead the next days. I also had dinner: home made kottu. Very filling. I made a decision after reading some internet blogs about Sri Lankan cuisine: I will eat *less* and I will go *spicy*!
    Read more