Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Garden of Dreams, Kathmandu

    January 14, 2017 in Nepal ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    I came to the Garden of Dreams looking for a place to have a cup of tea and update you all on my adventures. I haven't had the cup of tea yet but perhaps I will soon. The Garden is apparently a very popular place. I had read that this is where young couples come to show affection but I wasn't prepared for the number of people, not only young couples, but families, friends, and tourists like myself. I haven't seen a single Nepalese person take a photo yet this entire trip and in the hour that I've been here I must have seen at least 1000 photos taken. Young girls and lovers mostly. Posing in front of the fountains, trees, and archways. I suppose that compared to the rest of Kathmandu it a very relaxing and peaceful place. I personally was expecting more based on the high reviews that this place received on trip advisor and the recommendation on lonely planet. But then, I do come from one of the Greenest places in the world and I can definitely see the appeal to the local people! It is a pretty place. You can still hear the street noise but it is generally a bit quieter than the rest of the city. Again, busy for my liking when I was hoping for some quiet relaxation, would probably have found that in the courtyard at my hotel more easily. That being said, I do like to observe how people interact here! It's a social place, filled with people laughing and smiling. And looking at my keyboard strangely.. I suppose it is different. I'll have to take a picture of my setup somehow.. Considering my phone is also my screen I'm not sure how I'll manage that ;) Overall I suppose it was worth the visit for a place to sit around outside for an hour or so. Maybe I'll go get that tea now and read a book for a while.. And try not to fall asleep so early tonight! Need to come up with a plan for this evening. Tomorrow I meet up with the volunteer coordinator to get some more information about what I'll be doing over the next few weeks. As a tangent, I've been feeling very very relaxed this trip. It's perhaps the first time that I haven't felt pressured to rush through things and I've been able to be flexible, rarely checking the time, just doing what I feel. It's been liberating! A different way of life and travel for me but definitely an attitude that I may adopt more of at home: no worries, live with love, things will work themselves out eventually.Read more