Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Sirubari, Lamjung

    January 27, 2017 in Nepal ⋅ 🌬 25 °C

    Today it rained! And I loved it. It cooled down to what I considered a very comfortable temperature, but the rest were complaining about how cold it is. Cold enough that we were brought tea partway through the day by one of the ladies at the school :) Turns out Friday's are half days, so school ended about 1pm. I spent the day helping one of the teachers with some custom formatting in word/excel for report cards. New stuff for me too actually, but figured it out quickly enough!

    At home we had a quick lunch before the real rain started. In the time before the downpour, the sky was so clear that you could actually see across the valley to the other mountains! I hadn't realized how hazy it is here at other times. Pretty amazing. Then there was thunder, lightening, wind driven rain, and power outages. Pretty awesome actually. I love storm watching! After some time of watching the storm, Beda and I played a game of chess while he waited for the rain to clear so that he could go and cut some grass for the animals. I lost. But not horribly.. Just badly.. I think that it's been about 10+ years since I last played with Dad. But, oh well, it was good anyway, strategies will come back to me I'm sure.

    When the storm broke I was feeling restless and decided to go for a bit of a walk. I didn't go far but really wanted to just get out and move around. Starting to feel a little bit cooped up, not enough to do. But then at the same time, when I'm truly truly alone I absolutely love it. Like when I was walking and there weren't other people around or now when I'm writing just sitting alone. I really am happy with my own company. Good thing too else I'd be completely bored I think. With my luck, the rain started again while I was still walking. So when I got back home I curled up on my bed and got warm again, reading my book until dinner. After dinner I chatted outside with Bobita about random things for a while before heading to bed. Was good bonding time, she invited Mom and Dad to come visit as well!
    Read more