Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Last Day in Sirubari, Lamjung

    February 13, 2017 in Nepal ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Today was my last full day here in Sirubari :(

    I started the day by having my last bucket shower and scocializng before school started. At school I showed Ganesh a few final things to do with the laptop, made sure that everything was working okay and also printed out visa application forms for him and Beda/Bobita to visit Canada. All they have to do is fill them out and submit! We'll see if anything comes out of it or not, hopefully :) I figured it's the least I could to, to navigate the confusing website and find the proper information for them. We had a final lunch and afterwards I taught one last English class and one last computer class. I think that everything should be good to go! I also left my spare headphones behind to be used with the laptop. For video calling, watching movies, whatever is needed. Offers a bit more privacy should anyone choose to make calls over wifi there.

    Instead of last period there was a small goodbye arranged for me! It was very emotional for me, I was quite honoured and very sad to leave. It was just the teachers and students present, nothing big and grand like when the Japanese group was here and for that I was thankful. It was much more personal and I had a chance to actually say my thanks and goodbyes to all the teachers and students at my leisure.

    They had me sit on a chair outside the office and started off with a little speech that was very touching. Mahadev did most of the talking and said some kind things about how I have a generous spirit, how they're very thankful that I took the time to teach them the technology that might help bring them out of the "stone age" as he called it. They really wanted to thank me for my kindness and I gather that there have been volunteers in the past that were there more for an experience than to truly help. I'm just glad that they did benefit from me being there! Even though I feel like I only scratched the surface of what I could have taught them about technology in particular. But, I suppose I've had years and years of practice, there's no way that I could impart all that knowledge in such a short time. What they really need is someone to stay longer and be able to dedicate more time. I wish it could be me, but I sadly need to move on. I told them that I'm available to help remotely though should they need it! And I hope that they take that offer seriously because I meant it as a genuine offer. Genuinely enough that I set up a shared folder on Google Drive that I can access to help with anything that might need doing.

    After Mahadev's little speech each student, starting with the lower classes, came to me and gave me a small gift of flowers and gave me tikka. The first student was my little friend, Prabes, and he started the trend of putting tikka on my cheeks as well as forehead. He's a cute little trouble maker ;) As each student came to say goodbye and give me tikka, their gifts grew more extravagant the older they got. There were necklaces made of flowers, origami flowers, a handmade Nepali flag, and even a prayer scarf. After the students had said their goodbyes the teachers came by one by one to give me tikka and each said a few kind words. One line that stood out was that this was only a temporary goodbye because my friend was sure they would see me again again in Nepal. I was offered many times a place to stay when I return and told that I should bring my boyfriend/husband or parents next time!

    During the goodbye I gave my phone to one of the students to take pictures, so I have lots to remember. Going through them now makes me smile and I definitely will not be forgetting any of these wonderful people. Beda was the last to give me tikka and he also gave me a lovely scarf as a good luck blessing. I wish that I could take all of these flowers and gifts with me but I know they won't last. And have I ever mentioned how great they all smell?? Amazing! I did take the flag that Susana made and one of the origami flowers as well. I also have a volunteer certificate to bring home as a memory.

    After all the teachers and students finished giving me tikka, my face was covered and I had so many flowers around my neck! I had the chance to say goodbye but I was at a loss for words. I almost choked up.. But I said something about how much their kindness meant to me and that they will always be in my memories.

    After leaving the school I was invited to visit Ganesh's house. He came back to "my" house briefly and we had tea with grandma, Bobita, and Beda. I then walked with him to his house where we talked for a while and I watched while he did some of the chores that I've become familiar with in this lifestyle - milking the Buffalo, watering the plants, etc. He has some very flattering perspectives on respect, quality of life, and value of women/mothers in society! Definitely reflecting the Nepali culture that I've been learning about and love. At some point he cut up a papaya fresh from the tree for us to eat and warmed up some of the fresh milk as well. His father was also there, sorting through coffee pods getting them ready to take to the mill! His father had a number of questions for me so Ganesh translated so we could talk. Some of the usual questions about cultural differences, and some more in depth questions about what I plan to do when I return to Canada. I left when it started to get dark so that I wouldn't worry Beda and Bobita and he called them shortly after I arrived home to make sure I made it safely. As I was leaving he gave me a lovely scarf as a goodbye gift. And in my favourite colour! He also gave me some vegetables to bring to Bobita.

    When I returned to the house Bobita was waiting for me and had a very touching gift waiting for me; traditional Nepali clothing! I suspected that's what the measurements were for the other day but I didn't want to assume. The clothing is beautiful and I will definitely treasure them. And they're incredibly comfortable. I will definitely be wearing them in the future! The pants in particular are the best pants I've owned, they remind me of the pair that I bought in Bratislava a few years ago and regret losing. The neighbour lady who made the clothes made them so that they would still fit if, when I return home, I get "fat" I've come to understand that the term fat is not offensive here but somewhat flattering. Something to remember for anyone who is planning on visiting Nepal in the future ;)

    For dinner we had a special, sweet red rice. The name sounds like Onitay, but I'm sure it's spelled differently, I'll have to Google it when I have an internet connection again. My data package expired today so I'm out of luck for a while. Not a problem for me!

    I tried packing after dinner but it was too difficult to leave out what I needed for the next day and I gave up so that I could spend my remaining time visiting instead. Apparently Grandma is very sad to see my go and has told them that she wants me to stay a long time! Bobita and Beda were making cheese and butter for Beda to bring to Kathmandu with us tomorrow. I guess they each have sisters who live in the city and as they don't have buffalo's in the city so can't get quality butter and cheese. I tried some of the cheese while it was still warm and it tastes... I don't even know how to describe it. It's crumbly kind of like blue cheese but the flavour is more similar to goat cheese but less tangy. At some point we went to watch TV for a bit then off to bed at a decent hour considering last night was a late one ;)
    Read more