Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Sentosa Island

    February 20, 2017 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Sentosa Island is beautiful. I had read online that it's not really worth visiting, but I think they're wrong! Maybe the beaches won't be as nice as Thailand, but I was impressed. There's a separate train line dedicated to Sentosa and we got off at the end of the line, at the beaches. It's amazing! So pretty, and quiet. I suppose it's not hot season here, but for us we were very happy to put our feet in the water. I didn't bring a bathing suit with me as I'd heard the water wasn't all that clear this time of year, but it looked just fine to me. Too bad! But, I have Thailand for swimming ;) We walked along the beaches for a while just enjoying the peace and quiet, exploring, and talking. At some point we stopped and grabbed some fresh fruit juice. I tried something called "Badung" that was bright pink and very sweet, and tasted kind of like taro. Was interesting! While exploring the beaches we met a couple from America/Canada that we talked with for a while. The first Canadian I've met on this trip! And he's from Ladner. Small world indeed. Too bad they leave tonight or we likely would have met up for drinks later.

    Anyway, after we tired of walking the beaches, enjoying the views, and exploring the little islands connected by bridges, we hopped onto the train and got off at a different stop, still on Sentosa Island though. This area was still very vast, open, and impressive, but wasn't field with beaches. There was a huge statue of a Merlion that we took photos of and there's also a Universal Studios! We didn't go into the theme park because neither of us was interested, but it made me think of a few people at home that would be interested in it.

    When we finally got too tired to walk anymore we hopped back on the train and returned to the hostel. There I did some laundry - boy is it nice not to have to hand wash things! - and we sat around for a while relaxing. At some point we made friends with a girl from Switzerland, Lu, who's here only for one night on a layover. The three of us decided to adventure to Clarke Quay to find food at the absurd hour of 9:30 pm. That was an adventure to be told in another post ;)
    Read more