Спутник
Показать на карте
  • День 47

    Evening Out in Siam Reap

    26 февраля 2017 г., Камбоджа ⋅ 🌙 30 °C

    After visiting the Temples we returned to the hotel and almost everyone jumped into the pool. It was a much needed respite from the heat! Scorching hot. I drank 3 litres of water while walking around, gotta fight that dehydration.

    Afterwards a few of us went out for dinner at the Red Piano Restaurant on Pub Street. Turns out there wasn't much in the way of Cambodian Food here and I ordered a spicy penne pasta that was not spicy at all. I had to douse it in hot sauce.. I'm starting to think that I developed an even higher tolerance for spice while in Nepal though because there are things here that everyone is calling spicy that I can't even taste the spice in. My measure of this theory will be when I get back to Canada and have a much missed Caesar ;) Because there was a group of about 10 of us we left a tip which is not customary in Cambodia. I think we only left about 5% but the staff were so grateful they looked close to tears, it was a good reminder about how much even a dollar helps people here.

    After dinner we went to the night market and watched an amateur Lady Boys show! While receiving an hour long foot rub for only$6. It was fantastic. The shows were so funny, the ladies really got into it once they realized that there was a large group watching and cheering and genuinely enjoying themselves. They sang, danced, and acted a small skit out as well. So great. I'm sure the pros would be more skilled but I kind of enjoyed watching these folk do it for the pure enjoyment of it, not as a way to make money. Did I mention that it's a free show?

    After the show we walked to nearby Pub Street and had a very fun, very crazy, very alcohol filled evening! There was dancing in the bars of course but also on the streets. There was this local woman too selling bracelets that the group leaders know very well who just decided to dance with us for a good portion of the night. It was good fun :)
    Читать далее