Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 49

    Angkor Wat Sunrise

    February 28, 2017 in Cambodia ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    I got up at the ungodly hour of 4:30am today... I wasn't planning on going with the group to watch the sun rise over Angkor Wat but when Kayla's alarm went off and I heard she was sick so wasn't going I decided I would go in her place. It was pretty cool I guess! But kind of overrated if you want my personal opinion. Others in the group would disagree though. We arrived about an hour before sunrise and good thing too. Eric took us to a spot he knows and we got front row seats, by the time the sun actually started coming up there were hundreds of people in our little spot. I'm sure there were thousands of people in the vicinity as a whole it was crazy. The colours were pretty too that's for sure, but my camera saw more colours than my eyes did, hence the underwhelmed feeling even though the pictures turned out great.

    After the sun came up myself and a few of the other girls decided to stay a while longer before heading back to the hotel while the remainder went back via tuk tuk. We went back into Angkor Wat to climb up to the top of the temple! The tip part that had a two hour wait when we were there the other day. This time is was only 20 minutes. The view from the top was pretty great! You could see the jungle, a few other Temples, and the entry walk to this temple. The structure and building a style itself was very similar to the rest of the temple we saw before, nothing too special there. The steps up to the top were incredibly steep! My knee was protesting but I made it. I'd say it was worth the 20 minute wait, but not the 2 hour wait.

    After exploring the top we wandered around a bit longer and saw a few new areas we missed the previous day. Which I'm glad of because I had felt a little shorted on time before. I found my favourite part of the temple, a quiet courtyard with very few people there and a ledge about 2 metres wide and 15 metres above the ground that we sat on and just relaxed for a bit.

    We had intended on exploring a few more Temples while in Angkor but I think we were all just too tires. So after eating a fresh mango from a street vendor we decided to head back instead. At the time I was desperate to get home but also really sad not to have been able to see a few more. My body thanked me though after a long nap. I can't keep running off of no sleep!
    Read more