Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 56

    Temple at Mount Phousi & Night Market

    March 7, 2017 in Laos ⋅ ⛅ 32 °C

    When we got back from the waterfalls we had a short amount of time to eat and get dressed in our "temple attire" We hiked up a small mountain in the city centre to a Buddhist temple to watch the sun set. I was more interested in the temple itself than the sun setting although it was pretty. I learned that there's a different action for each day of the week in Buddhism. There were gold plated statues of the different actions lining the stairs on the way to the top of the temple. The temple itself was pretty small but we'll taken care of and clearly well loved. Lots of people were praying and giving offerings while the tourists mingled..

    A group of us decided not to bother fully watching the sun go down, we caught a glimpse and that was good enough for us! I personally didn't feel like waiting an hour smashed in between a bunch of other people, not my idea of fun. I saw the temple though and that was what I wanted!

    We walked down the opposite side of the temple that we came up and we're placed smack dab in the centre of the night market. The night market is huge! I wasn't really looking for anything in particular so we just kind of wandered looking around. I do really want to get a sarong but I didn't see many here, guess it's not really a beach town. Maybe in Thailand! I did buy a few small small gifts that I thought some folks would enjoy, actually there were so many things I'd love to have if only I didn't have to lug them around with me :p

    My favourite part of the night market was the little alley packed with food vendors! I know I've written a few times that I've had my best meal yet, but I think I really mean it this time with the grilled chicken skewer and coconut pancakes I ate tonight <3 So delicious!! I wish that we hadn't filled up on mediocre food before climbing the temple so that I could have just eating a ton of food there. Oh well, there's always tomorrow! Seriously thought, that chicken...

    After the night market I forced myself to stay up until 9 pm before hopping in the shower and falling promptly asleep.
    Read more