Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 65

    Thai Cooking Class

    March 16, 2017 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    We woke up fairly early today to take an all day Thai Cooking Class! It was so much fun. We started out with a trip to the market where we met our instructor and she had us choose which dishes we'd like to make. I chose spring rolls, tom yum soup, holy basil, red curry, and mango sticky rice. All of them turned out fantastic. And I impressed her with my ability to handle the spice of the red curry, though I still didn't make it as spicy as she would eat it! But I was the only student in the class that chose to do the red curry... Everyone else chose something a bit more mild. But I figured that I had to do it! And I'm so happy I did. I'll definitely be making some of these dishes at home for some of you lucky folk if I can find the appropriate ingredients and substitutions for my vegetarian/nut allergy friends.

    Thai Secret Garden was the name of the cooking class and it was run by a local woman and her husband who's actually originally from America. They do it at their home and we went out to their garden to pick some of the herbs that we needed for the cooking. At the end we received a cook book so I'm not even going to try and describe how we made things except to say that everything was from scratch :)

    While at the market in the morning we also picked up some beers to drink while cooking because today is Jess' birthday! A fun time was had by all ;)

    A few fun facts:
    - The Thai call cilantro corriandor, need to remember that when reading the ingredients in this Cookbook.
    - Oyster sauce should be between 20 and 30% Oyster for best taste
    - Spring rolls become oily when the oil isn't hot before frying them or if the corners aren't folded in properly.
    Read more