Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 66

    Night Bus to Bangkok

    March 17, 2017 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 32 °C

    We checked out of our rooms this morning and had a few hours to kill in Chiang Mai before boarding a night Bus back to Bangkok. We wandered around for a bit, ate, got Snacks for the overnight trip, and discovered hammocks in the back of the hotel! So Kayla and I took naps and it was glorious. I can't believe we only discovered this on our last day.... Now I know for next time I'm here after the Vietnam tour! It was nice and peaceful lying in a hammock in the shade in a little green courtyard.

    The night Bus was an interesting experience. We got there a bit early, had lunch of noodle soup, then boarded. At first the seats were normal bench seats and after dinner (which was average, comparable to airline food), the staff came around to convert the benches to beds. The beds weren't too uncomfortable to be honest but it was so cold in there! Thankfully I had a nice warm sweater, the one I bought in Vang Vieng to replace the one I lost on the last flight we took... Each little bed had a curtain for privacy and thankfully I had an eye mask because they didn't turn the lights off once. Honestly I think I would have slept quite well if it hadn't been for the severe lurching of the train almost every hour. It was seriously the roughest train ride I've ever been on and at times the movements were so sharp I thought for sure that we'd be going off the tracks.. Well, I wasn't actually ever worried about it, but the thought did cross my mind as I was woken every hour. Overall it was an interesting experience! I'll be sure to not nap before the next one though so that I can hopefully sleep through all the bumps and screeching brakes.
    Read more