Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 73

    Jungle Beach

    March 24, 2017 in Vietnam ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    We arrived at Jungle Beach at about 8am from the night bus, got our rooms and had some breakfast! We're sleeping in huts made entirely of Bamboo and no proper windows or doors, all open to the outdoors. Pretty cool actually, I love that they build entirely of Bamboo! Such a great material.

    Anyway, after breakfast we hit the beach of course! My first beach in SE Asia (unless you count the man made beach of Singapore) and it was gorgeous. White sand, clear blue water, no seaweed or jellyfish to worry about, lukewarm water, minimal waves. It was just lovely! There were a few other guests at the resort but it was mainly just us, so quiet and peaceful. We lounged on hammocks and sun beds, I stayed in the shade as much as possible and still ended up with a burn, and I read my book and just relaxed for the first time in a very long time.

    Meals are at set times and set menus, family style, and drinks are available for purchase at an additional cost. Traditional cooking and pretty good! Nothing I was super crazy about but no complaints either.

    Before dinner we played some beach volleyball, I'm surprised by how my body just remembers to play lol. It was fun and friendly competition! After dinner we had a bonfire on the beach, reminded me of home quite a bit! Made me a bit nostalgic, especially because we're still a group of strangers really, but it'll come :) was a great night. And an early one, I think I was in bed by about 9:30 or 10:00
    Read more