Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Tag 76

    Hoi An

    27. März 2017 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    We arrived at our hotel, Sala Hotel, at about 8am in Hoi An. We weren't able to check in right away so we went for breakfast in the old town, about a 10 minute walk away. Had decent eggs bennies and a fantastic Vietnamese coffee before heading back to the hotel. Our rooms were ready and they're very nice! The group leaders were telling us that the Vietnam trip has some of the nicest accommodations because everything is so inexpensive here. We have a rain shower and comfortable beds. It's a great place!

    After settling in my roommates and I went out to explore. First impressions of Hoi An are very positive. It's a very cute little city, apparently the most romantic place in SE Asia and I can see why. We saw one couple getting wedding photos done, even though it's raining here. It's actually cold! At 25 degrees lol, I must have acclimatized ;) There are Lanterns everywhere and a lot of French style architecture. It's a really quaint and cute town. We stopped by a place to grab some lunch that offers 3000 Vietnamese Dong, or 17.6 cent CAD, beers. Needless to say we stayed and had a few! And tried Cao lau for lunch, a local specialty of noodles in a curry like sauce. It was pretty good. At some point more members from our group joined us before we met up with the entire group.

    We met up with the group to head to a tailor shop! And I decided to go for it and got some custom clothing made, a jacket, pants, a skirt, and two blouses. Because why not? It's cheap and guaranteed to fit! I also ordered some custom shoes... Also because why not. Black ankle boots and some sandals! Guaranteed to be comfortable I hope ;) We'll see tomorrow how it all fits :)

    After the tailor shop we went out for dinner as a group and then for some drinks. The bar we were at had a pool table, foosball table, and beer pong! Was a good time. I admit to feeling a bit left out in these group situations sometimes.. Everyone is so tight knit that I feel as though I'm almost intruding. But trying not to let that stop me form socializing! Highlight of the night for me was meeting up with two guys from our previous trip! We had a blast, those 2 and my 2 roommate who were also on the previous trip, just catching up and having fun. In Hoi An all the bars close at midnight so we went back to our hotel room and cracked a bottle of rum... Stayed up talking until about 2am before deciding that bed was probably a good idea.
    Weiterlesen