Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 79

    Beach Hotel, Da Nang

    March 30, 2017 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    This morning I went to the shoe shop to pick up the custom shoes I had made, and they also turned out alright! Not exactly what I was expecting but close enough and super comfortable so they'll be worn :)

    Afterwards we hopped into a bus and drove about 20 minutes to a hostel called Hoa's Place which was right on the beach. Our last beach day on the trip it sounds like! Immediately on check in I took a short nap, had some lunch and went down to the water to meet the rest of the group. We swam, hung out, tried to play soccer and were told no by the life guards (wtf?), and just had a good time. The beaches are so beautiful! The area is pretty small but undergoing massive construction. Almost everywhere you look you can see new developments. It will look very very different in a few years I think. Hopefully the beaches remain preserved though!

    Following our beach adventures some people went to play pool and I found myself Chatting with a few folk from Australia and America who have been living in the area from periods ranging 3 months to 10 years. It was neat to hear their perspectives on the area and just to have a good, in depth conversation. The owner put on a bbq Buffet and we indulged in some great food which included mashed potatoes! Yum! After dinner we played some drinking games on the rooftop and everyone from my group went to bed at 9:30... So I went back to the table my new friends were at and stayed up with them a bit longer. Hilarious people! I was so tempted to quit the group at that point and just stay there. Definitely a place I would go back to in a heartbeat, my kind of atmosphere for sure.
    Read more