Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Taroko Gorge

    October 12, 2023 in Taiwan ⋅ 🌫 24 °C

    The Gorge itself was fantastic, the sheer size and distances was tremendous, you could barely grasp it. We hiked through several caves and paths that day, and I had some great aboriginal traditional food sourced in the area, around lunchtime too. I was really glad I paid for a guided tour, because it would have been super hard to navigate by myself, especially since certain areas of the park were closed off during certain hours because they had to make repairs to the damages that the last typhoon left. I also learned many super interesting cultural facts and stories from our guide Santa. Tomorrow will be the longest travel day during my time in Taiwan, since I will journey on to the very tip of the island and visit Kenting.

    Google Translate:
    Die Schlucht selbst war fantastisch, die schiere Größe und die Entfernungen waren enorm, man konnte sie kaum fassen. Wir sind an diesem Tag durch mehrere Höhlen und Pfade gewandert, und ich habe auch zur Mittagszeit großartiges traditionelles Essen der Aborigines aus der Gegend gegessen. Ich war wirklich froh, dass ich für eine geführte Tour bezahlt habe, denn es wäre sehr schwierig gewesen, alleine zu navigieren, vor allem, weil bestimmte Bereiche des Parks zu bestimmten Zeiten gesperrt waren, weil die Schäden, die der letzte Taifun hinterlassen hatte, repariert werden mussten. Außerdem habe ich von unserem Guide Santa viele superinteressante kulturelle Fakten und Geschichten erfahren. Morgen wird der längste Reisetag während meines Aufenthalts in Taiwan sein, da ich bis zur äußersten Spitze der Insel weiterreisen und Kenting besuchen werde.
    Read more