Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 82

    Miyajima: Mt. Misen Ascent

    December 7, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 13 °C

    After sleeping quite well and long (I am still surprised how comfy futon can be) I left for the Ropeway to Mt. Misen. I passed through a nice little Park on the way and it took me around 10 minutes to reach the station (It could have been a little faster if I had run, as some signs suggested xD) I only purchased a one way ticket as I intended to walk on the way back. The Ropeway reached a middle station where I switched to a funicular and continued to the station on top, from there it was another 30minutes to walk to the highest point: Mt. Misen. A little before the path to the Observatory, there was another shrine, where they kept a flame 🔥 burning for 1200 years and apparently they took the fire for the Peace Flame in the Hiroshima Peace Park from here. This was another day of far too many O-Mamori purchases and thousands of yen spent on very little material value (though high immaterial value 😉) I ascended the final steps to the Top Observatory where I enjoyed the 360 degree views and had a nice friendly chat with the information keeper in the basement, buying some quite interesting lemon drops (that tasted both sweet and salty and lemony sour) for less than 2€. It's strange that sometimes, you seem to get so much value for barely any money and sometimes, you get so little for too much. I was stamping my passport with the Mt. Misen Stamp and then started my descent.

    Google Translate:
    Nachdem ich ziemlich gut und lange geschlafen hatte (ich bin immer noch überrascht, wie bequem ein Futon sein kann), machte ich mich auf den Weg zur Seilbahn zum Mt. Misen. Unterwegs kam ich durch einen schönen kleinen Park und brauchte etwa 10 Minuten, um die Seilbahn Station zu erreichen (es hätte etwas schneller gehen können, wenn ich gerannt wäre, wie einige Schilder vorschlugen xD). Ich habe mir dann nur ein One-Way-Ticket gekauft mit der Absicht auf dem Rückweg zu laufen. Die Seilbahn erreichte eine Mittelstation, wo ich auf eine Standseilbahn umstieg und weiter zur obersten Station fuhr. Von dort waren es noch 30 Minuten bis zum höchsten Punkt, dem Berg Misen. Kurz vor dem Weg zum Observatorium gab es einen weiteren Schrein, in dem sie seit 1200 Jahre lang eine Flamme 🔥 am brennen hielten, und offenbar nahmen sie das Feuer für die Friedensflamme im Hiroshima-Friedenspark von hier. Es war ein weiterer Tag, an dem ich viel zu viele O-Mamori gekauft und Geld für sehr geringen materiellen Wert (wenn auch hohen immateriellen Wert 😉) ausgegeben habe. Ich stieg die letzten Stufen zum Top Observatory hinauf, wo ich die 360-Grad-Aussicht genoss und ein nettes, freundliches Gespräch im Keller führte. Ich kaufte einige recht interessante Zitronenbonbons (die sowohl süß als auch salzig und zitronig-sauer schmeckten) für weniger als 2 €. Es ist merkwürdig, dass man manchmal so viel Wert für kaum Geld bekommt und manchmal so wenig für zu viel. Ich stempelte meinen Pass mit dem Mt. Misen-Stempel und begann dann meinen Abstieg.
    Read more