Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Day 51: Munich, Germany

    August 10, 2017 in Germany ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Today we decided to visit the Dachau Concentration Camp with a tour from our hostel. The first established concentration camp where 43,000 people lost their lives. It was not an easy morning. Watching it in a movie or reading it in a book truly doesn't get you to understand fully the horror and injustice of the camps. I can't even begin to describe it, but it made me feel so uneasy and overwhelmed with anger and sadness. I also didn't feel comfortable taking a lot of pictures.

    After the tour, I grabbed lunch with a few of the people we met and the food was really good. We were all meeting up later in the hostel bar for trivia night, but there turned out to be none, so we just hung out for a few hours. Radler's are really good beers for anyone who visits Germany!

    We then went to get a late snack and turns out Munich is quite sketch at night. It turns out one of my roommates is slightly sketch too. When I went to shower later, turns out someone stole my used bar of soap! I had left it to dry near the window and the soap and case completely disappeared. My used bar of soap certainly wasn't something that I thought I had to lock up, but I guess when you need soap, you need it. Thank god the hostel had mini body washes for a euro as everything was closed.
    Read more