Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    The flight was cancled? And JFK

    November 15, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 3 °C

    Thursday, Nov. 14th, when I was in the office late afternoon and checked on my emails, suddenly a email from South African Airways popped up and said “your flight was canceled due to industrial action”. WTF! I was supposed to fly out tomorrow and you canceled my flight the last minute?! I immediately picked up the phone and called the number given. While holding on the line I told Dale and texted Finn. It was the bed time for Finn but he couldn’t sleep. Dale ran his searching engine high, trying to find me an alternative route. He told me the “industrial action” meant strike. Sure enough the news said SAA was having a strike for the better pay and benefits. Dale couldn’t find anything good that could get me to WDH quick enough. The anxiety was running high in the twenty minutes holding the line. Finally someone picked up. After checking she said my flight from JFK to JNB wasn’t canceled, but the next one, from JNB to WDH was. She then found me another flight run by Namibia Airline that departed from JNB one hour later than my original one, which wasn’t too bad and also gave me more transit time. Finally, the chaos was over. Finn could go to bed with peace of mind. Phew, what a drama!

    Next day I got up at 6:30. Tian Yong picked me up at 7:30 and took me to the airport. I put the backpack on shoulder and took a picture. Wanted to take a full length but only end up with shoulder height.
    Read more