Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Monarch Caterpillars!

    February 3, 2021 in Guatemala ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    One morning I was sitting on the roof having my coffee when a little caterpillar plopped out of a bush on to the ground next to me and started making their way towards some neighbouring foliage. Instantly I thought “Bah! I think that is a monarch!” And sure enough, it was! The hostel owner told me that they feed on latex plants which is why he keeps a bunch on the roof to provide them habitat. Apparently when they decide to leave the latex plant it means that they have eaten enough and are ready to make a chrysalis and start metamorphosing into a butterfly!

    Monarchs are a beautiful and impressive species; they migrate in the millions from Central America to Southern Canada twice per year and are thought to be one of the only insect species to do this! Unfortunately, their numbers are dwindling due to habitat loss and climate change. Being that they are becoming increasingly rare, I decided to spend a lot of time appreciating their presence... which resulted in my neck incurring a mild sunburn. 😂 Definitely worth it I’d say.
    Read more