Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Snorkeling

    July 11, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    10/7/17
    Today we went snorkeling, it was my first time. I don't like swimming with fish when they're very close, so I didn't know if it was going to be fun, but I was guessing it was not. We had to be in the boat for 1 hour. I was nervous, I didn't want to go in the water. I wanted to stay in the boat. It was about 25 mins and we saw spinner dolphins 🐬! They were pretty. There were about 4 dolphins. Today's lesson: Spinner Dolphins are named after their actions. So, we reached the snorkeling place, we had a little history lesson about Captain Cook and what happened to him when he went to Hawaii. We reached the snorkeling place, we had a 5 minute snorkeling lesson and off we were in the water. The water was app.13 feet deep and everyone wore floaties except Daddy. First I was scared, but then I got used to it the fish were pretty cute, but they were also small. We saw a yellow fish, a lot of blackfish and a yellow tubesnout fish. Me and mammy were looking a bit longer, and Daddy and Conor went to the slide. The slide will lead you into the sea, and had a big gravity drop at the end. I went on it and didn't like it. Water got in my eyes, nose and I couldn't see anything. I got on the slide 2 times and Mammy was feeling cold, so she finished and was eating chips downstairs, (A LOT of chips) when they blew the whistle, which means snorkeling is finished, the captain started the boat. But suddenly, the captain stopped the boat and we heard a shout! The captain said to look over there and we all saw a Sail fish jumping in the air! The captain said that the crew in the bottom caught that with a fishing rod! Every one was looking at the fish and the crew were going to eat it for dinner! When we reached the shore, we got to see the size of the sailfish! It was the biggest fish I have ever seen.Read more