Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Lake Ohrid

    April 27, 2017 in North Macedonia ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    Asked for directions on how to get to town (supposedly 8km away) then caught the bus in. The bus is more like a school bus and the driver didn't give us our change but oh well. It was like 20c. We dropped most of the bus people off at a school, it was like 12:30.. not sure what the go is but it looked like they were just about to start school?
    If school in Australia started at 12:30 I would have been on time more often.
    The town is friggen stunning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I am in love.
    Cobbled streets, cute stores and trees that back onto the most beautiful scenic lake. Can't deal. STUNNING.
    We first had crappy breakfast (that's the one thing Greece does better - food) then went for a walk. We walked onto the dock - amazing! We were pestered a lot for boat rides though which was annoying.
    There was so many fish in the bay and one very clever but extremely random swan.
    We kept walking and came across St Sophia's which was a nice church with frescoes, a lot have unfortunately been destroyed with time but still lovely all the same. It cost 100 denars to get in for international visitors and cheaper for domestic but it didn't annoy me cause at least they had a sign specifying it rather than some cheapo door man seemingly making up his own rules. We kept walking with no real aim up steep hills and came across another church - St Clements monastery of St Paneleimon. It was pretty dull, the highlight was that a stray cat caught a lizard to eat. I walked over to have a look at the gift shop outside and instantly regretted it. The man came to life, he was probably so excited to have a visitor. I walked away awkwardly. I felt bad for him.
    There are so many lizards it's weird.
    What's even weirder is the ticket guy gave us student discounts for no reason. He was like
    " are you students" and I said " super technically I am but can't prove it" and he said " naaa you look like students" and gave us half price entry.
    It's not usual for a discount here, normally the complete opposite where they try to rip you off. It was refreshing.
    We then kept walking us the hill to St samuels fortress which was boring itself but the views were S.P.E.C.T.A.C.U.L.A.R.
    We walked back down the hill and came across an "antique theatre" not ancient but antique haha.
    It looks as if it might still be used. I just thought it would be a great stage to dance on. It is super old though so we think the holes in some of the rows might be for pooing into, then someone collects your bucket hahah.
    On our stroll down the hill I bought a macedonia T-shirt and made a dog friend. I gave him a shmacko. He doesn't belong to the shop owner but has basically been adopted - they feed her and she hangs out with the' everyday :)
    We went for a quick shop with the intention of buying pegs, a drink, sunscreen, cereal and hair detangler cause I had a hissy fit this morning cause my hair has lost the plot.
    We finally found pegs but sunscreen seems to be an impossible task.
    I can feel my face turning into a giant cancer.
    We then went and sat at a resturant for hours chatting and looking at the view. Will has beer and I had dessert :D
    We got chatting to this English couple next to us. The man had me in stitches several times.
    Mainly when another man appeared wearing a silver leather jacket. The commentary for that particular Moment was hysterical. He looked liked he'd been wrapped in alfoil.

    We caught a taxi home and are now having some alone time. We chatted to them for hours.
    We had a wonderful day.

    Omg yuck Will was holding my hand for ages and I thought he was either scratching or cleaning my nails but he was using my nails to clean his nails. Not cool.
    Read more