Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Day 2 in Panama

    September 16, 2022 in Panama ⋅ 🌧 28 °C

    Spent the day walking through Casco Viejo. I stopped to look at the ruins of a church and a sweet 86- year- old Panamanian man approached me and was very passionate about sharing his history knowledge. He was very cute. I offered him $1 and went on my way to find COFFEE!! I explored the touristy areas and then ventured into the not-so-touristy areas. Got a taste of what things are like for the locals. Tried to make sense of the bus and metro area. Not to much luck but talked to a couple worker gals and they were ready to take me home to enjoy a beer! I said I'd buy! Lol
    Entered a large market where 1/2 the building was devoted to selling fresh meats, and the other half was fruits and vegetables, spices, etc. There was a food court area and enjoyed a freshly made fried fish filet. Delicious and cheap!
    On the way back I was looking for a little market or something for some chocolate. I just happened to stumble upon Nomé, an artisan chocolate factory, ran by a lovely, young, passionate gal. There's was another gentleman in the store purchasing some chocolates. Turns out he's from Sacramento! What were the chances?! Lol. Anyways, she gave a little tastings, gifted me an incredibly delicious mango filled bonbon in the shape of lips, and I purchased a couple pricey but delicious bars of chocolate. Hopefully they won't melt before I get back home to the states. Of course the may not make it back anyways cuz I might eat them! Lol.
    Read more