Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    2nd Night in Casco Viejo

    September 16, 2022 in Panama ⋅ 🌧 27 °C

    Headed over to a rooftop bar/ restaurant called Tantalo. It was early and I was literally the first one there. Hence I got the best seat in the house. Beauty's view is the city. I was looking forward to seeing it light up as it got darker. What I didn't plan for was the lightening show from impending thunderstorms! It was awesome! Fortunately, we had a roof over our head.
    I had a delicious passion fruit mojito and a lovely Greek salad that was presented so artistically.
    After that, I wanted to head to a rum bar that I had read about. But the rain was coming down hard and, of course, I left my umbrella in my room. At one point, I sought shelter under a building overhang, and as I settled under there, a gentleman did the same. We began to chat and come to find out that he and his wife own a resort in Boca Chica which is one of the places I was considering going to AND, they are considering adding pickleball to their property! I asked him his name and he said "Carol." I said, seriously? That's my name too! Lol. Plus his wife was already at the rum bar. I told him that's where I was headed! He was going back to their hotel to check in with their daughter when our paths crossed. Needless to say, I met up with his wife, we hit it off, and they invited me to go stay at their hotel at their "friends and family" rate! While it's still a bit more than what I was planning to spend, I feel like this is a moment when one just needs to go with the flow and say "Yes" to the Universe!! I'm excited! I told them that I plan to get certified to teach pickleball so who knows?!!! I think there's a retirement plan in the making! 😃
    Read more