Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Boquete Experience Part 1

    September 19, 2022 in Panama ⋅ 🌧 20 °C

    Boquete is really a magical place! You feel like you're in the rain forest, in the clouds. The bus ride was fine. Just gotta stay on your toes in David with the bus change. But they definitely have their public transportation system down.
    My accommodations are great. They're very well organized and they provide coffee (a plus!!) And full use of kitchen.
    Ventured out last night to find a place to eat. As usual, I tried going off the beaten path. I found a delightful place that on Sunday afternoons, expats get together and prepare fruits and vegetables for the public school system here. I got to meet one of the restaurant owners, a young gal, former banker from Kansas whose parents are originally from Panama (although they're still in the states). She's working for a foundation trying to make a difference in the lives of the children in public schools. She explained that there no virtually no funding for food and these kids are poor because the wealthier families seems their kids to private schools. So she's on site at the schools during the week helping with food preparation and distribution. So awesome!!!
    I was the only patron for dinner and it was delicious! Plantain chips served with smoked eggplant puree and a fruit puree that wasn't too sweet. I ordered the Yucca Gnocchis and they were amazing! I'm so glad I went there!

    Next day, since it wasn't raining in the morning, I set out on a solo hike in the neighborhood for about 2 1/2 miles.

    Got to play Pickleball. I nice couple from Texas I met through Facebook picked me up. It worked out perfectly because there were 8 of us total to play! It was in a gym. At one point we couldn't hear each other call out the scores because the rain started falling so hard and was so noisy.

    Afterwards, Ken and Kelli dropped me off in town and I walked around, stumbled upon some ladies drinking a "pina," apparently its a coconut before it becomes a coconut! Lol. It was delicious and heavy to carry! Did a little more exploring before heading back to my room. After a short rest, I'll head out again to find some evening action and food!
    Read more