Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Day 3 in Panama

    September 17, 2022 in Panama ⋅ 🌧 29 °C

    Did a tour with Tony today which included the Bridge of the America's (gateway to the canals), the canals, casco viejo, and the Amador Causeway which is where the country is really pouring money into. It feels like tourism is in its infancy here. They are definitely planning for the next 20 years. It's really going to be nice! They're even building a cruise ship docking station to bring people to that area.

    One thing I learned about Casco Viejo is the red bricks on the streets. I had noticed them that morning (see pic). They use the red bricks to demarcate the "safe" area, in reality, it's the "touristy" area. 😉 But there definitely are more "squatters," more dilapidated buildings, etc. in the non-red zone. But the plan is to slowly rebuild and modernize the whole area. So much potential!

    We stopped at the Mercado de Mariscos for lunch (see my pic). After the tour I stopped by another rooftop restaurant/ bar with a fantastic view of the city and had an amazing cocktail during which I was visited by a Panamanian fly! Lol.

    After a short rest back at my Airbnb, I had dinner at the Mahalo Snack Shack.

    Then retracing some of my steps from the days before (Casco Viejo is not that big), I finally stumbled upon a shop that I had seen on a previous outing that makes crepes! Omg! Had to have one! It was Delish! (I'm definitely gaining weight on this trip! Lol) Ended the evening with another night view of the city. No rain so it was a little clearer.
    Read more