Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 5: Foncebadon to Ponferrada

    April 10 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    What a long day!
    Last night we stayed in a bunk house Albergue. It had 7 bunks. So 14 people in this room. I had no idea how I was going to sleep because lights out was at 10 pm. I slept all night! That is not something I am used to. Before we went to bed people were talking about getting up early to watch the sunrise.
    6:30 am people got up and moving. We were on the road by 7:30 am. We didn’t stop walking until 4:30 pm. (We did stop at a few bars for food but other than that we were walking. )
    It was a long day! My second longest walk ever and Patrick’s longest. 16.5 miles! (The picture of the map shows how far we walked.)
    It was a great day! Weather was perfect. At one point I was walking in shorts and a t shirt. Sunrise was special. Trail today was HARD but so much fun. We had a great mix of walking with ourselves and walking with others. The scenery was beautiful! Mountains everywhere you looked.
    Today was a lot of downhill. I felt like my knees were having seizures. lol.
    There was a lot of downhill with big rocks. Had to cross water a lot. Stepped in mud a lot. All kinds of challenges but what fun!
    Total walked 18 miles. (You have to walk to dinner/store or wherever you go. We are both exhausted!
    Read more