Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Armidale, our home away from home

    July 22, 2016 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Home at last. 💕
    We had the first weekend to settle in. We got our own little house on the school ground which by the way is enormous.
    The school even has its own equestrian center as well as a junior school, a gym with a pool, four boarding houses and of course the senior school buildings. 💕
    I work in Transition which is a class of 3-5year olds.
    I love these kids and I love the concept of Transition. It is the perfect combination of learning and playing. We do everything from writing, reading, music, drawing, crafts, swimming, horse riding, gymnastics to excursions to the fire and police station.
    There is never a boring day in Transition. 💕
    We even decided to get a guinea pig. 💕
    Our school has lots of special days and events throughout the year. Since we arrived we had a Harry Potter night and we dressed up for book week as our favourite book character and also for French day. 💕
    The people here and especially the ones I work with are the most welcoming and kind people I could ever wish for. If there is something we need we just have to ask for it (we even got a new TV). 💕
    We are slowly getting used to all the colourful birds and the different landscape around here. A lot of the birds look like the ones we have in zoos (especially Rosellas).
    I also met my first Australian spider which nearly gave me a heart attack. Just google Hunstman Spider and you will know what I mean.
    Apparently they are completely harmless (yet terrifying) not like Magpies (birds) who are the personified devil. Fortunately they only really attack you during nesting season in spring but they can't be trusted all year around.
    Read more