Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 350

    Back home, leaving Australia

    July 1, 2017 in Germany ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    We got to call Australia 'home' for the last 350 days and now our last day in this vast country had begun.
    Bente and I treated ourselves with some delicious breakfast before we were picked up by a shuttle that drove us to Melbourne airport.
    We both had two pieces of luggage plus one carry-on backpack and it was such a weird feeling to know that we were carrying everything we had had for the last year with us. We were basically carrying our whole Australian lives to the airport.
    The flights itself and the journey home went smoothly and we spent the 26h watching movies, eating or attempting to sleep. Sleep didn't really come and we were incredible tired by the time we reached Dubai.
    It was now time to say goodbye to Bente but since we knew it was only a week until we would see each other again it wasn't so hard. 💕
    It is still weird not living with Sophie and Bente anymore. We got along so well and those two have become more than just my friends. They are like my sisters and I'm so grateful that I got to spend this amazing year alongside them. 💕
    On my last flight to Frankfurt the excitement took over and I wasn't as tired anymore. Even though it was incredible sad to leave Armidale and then Australia I was so happy to go home and see my family and friends again. 💕
    They waited for me at the airport and when I arrived home the first thing we did was make waffles because that's what I had asked for.
    I'm still getting used to being back but I believe that Armidale and Australia will always be home and we will be back one day. Until then I have got a million photos, stories and memories from the last 360 days that are truly unforgettable and this adventure was better than I ever imagined it could be. Again thank you to everyone for a magnificent journey and let's see what the next adventure will be. 💕
    Read more