Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Day 10 CastroUndiales to Laredo 220.9 km

    October 2, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Had a great sleep. Left later than usual 7:00am

    Very nice beginning to the day but starting at 20 C is tough.

    As you can see the scenery is stunning. However I thought I could handle the distance but the heat made it extremely challenging.

    I was fine until Liendo. As you can see looking at the map there are tons of alternative routes. I thought the one I chose was the shortest.....30 km later😱

    But the big roadblock was that MY PHONE DIED !!!!

    Yup. I know it overheated....battery fried!

    So I had no way to navigate my way when I arrived at Laredo.
    I had no address or phone number of the place. Luckily I remembered its name.

    I looked at a map at the Church of Santa Maria run by 2 Nuns in habits. But trying to find the signage on buildings is tricky. 2 people told me to go the Policia for help.

    By some miracle I found the place.....it was 530 at night!!!

    Then I was sooooo fortunate to find a phone place (same company that I bought my SIM card from) and bought a NEW PHONE

    I am the proud owner of a Samsung Galaxy A14 5G😂
    The lady spoke excellent English. I was also able to go to a shop to get the screen protector and case.

    Needless to say I was a wee bit weary....
    Read more