Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Day 9 Portugalete to CastroUndiales 191k

    October 1, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Woke up at 430 am to the sound of a lot of talking. I believe it was Korea n? I know they like to start early......

    Anyway, Anja is going to walk with me. Victoria from Florida lent her a day pack. She is sending her luggage ahead and has booked a place before my destination. She is unsure how many km she can do.

    We set off not on the original Camino but an alternative that Victoria told us about. By the ocean more and no senseless climbs in the mountains.

    Beautiful and stunning path today.
    The town of Verbenia had a German feel to it with the house style Bavarian looking.

    My pace was quite slow as I accommodated Anja. After La Arena I parted ways with her as I had about 10 kms more to do than her.

    It was sooooo hot But the path passed a Bar at the top with a view of the ocean😍 Topped up with Gatorade and CocaCola Zero .

    Passed a pilgrim wearing VIBRAMS. Barefoot alternative.
    He was walking on pavement!!! Yikes!!!

    Today I leave the Basque country and enter into Cantabria.
    Read more