Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Day 12 San Miguel to Santander 265 km

    October 4, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    Great sleep although I was up late looking at the upcoming stages I am thinking of going down the Primitivo way. There is a lot of road walking lately which I would prefer to be hiking more
    I will go to Oviedo and decide there I think

    Started walking in the dark on a narrow road with no shoulder. I had my headlamp on but it was not very good 😳
    I thought the road would improve but it did not all the way until we were closer to the ocean This is what I am not to keen on.

    My pictures will show how narrow the road was....buses and big trucks are on it. Not Pilgrim safe at all🥺

    I have a pic of an elderly gent walking and who was listening to Opera....

    The countryside really is stunning.

    I had the best tortilla ever for breakfast! With fresh orange juice 🥰👏

    The views of the ocean from the path along the cliff were Spectacular!!!

    Huge beach. It must have been a couple km long for sure. It reminded me of the West Coast trail beach walking.

    I used my GPS to navigate where I was to go after it.....and almost missed the tiniest sign that said 'ferry".

    There were delightful people from Italy, Nomads from the USA they have an address in South Dakota....it's a long story ...and a guy and his wife from Victoria Lex and Peter. She is suffering with a leg compartment syndrome😥but is improving.

    Took the awesome ferry over to Santander. A pirate ship was docked close to where we got off. 3.30 Euros for the ride.

    Found my hostel. Very nice indeed.

    My watch wasn't charged enough and turned off early. I clocked 25 km today. Sunny and very warm😎
    Read more