Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Day 15 Santillana to Comilles 325.59 km

    October 7, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    Had a terrific sleep! My bunkmate loves sleeping with the window open👍

    Out the door by 7. I am trying to leave earlier to beat the he.at.

    Beautiful stars this morning. I even saw a shooting star.

    Lovely walking although very steep inclines and declines. I used my walking backward down the hills to save my knees and give my quads a break.

    Had breakfast with Camilla from Hungary at a bar. Anne Marie joined us. Freshly squeezed OJ and tortilla.

    It got very hot once the sun came out. However most of the walking was in shade and lovely forested roads.

    Much nicer conditions today and eventually we got back to the ocean.

    Lovely hostel. We have cubed beds which offer curtains for privacy.

    Went and got groceries for tomorrow

    Had quite a pivotal moment when I had trouble with my pack transport. Long story short.... I am taking the train to Oviedo tomorrow and starting the Primitivo route Monday morning.

    I decided to switch a bit earlier than planned......but so it goes.

    I have felt very frustrated with this walk ever since Bilbao. I think the best part was Irun to Bilbao.

    The change in plans took awhile to do tonight so I am keeping this short.
    Read more