Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Day 40 Bilbao - Lourdes France 750km

    October 31, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    I am always learning on this trip especially about other Cultures like the French for example.

    They are very proud of their language and generally do not like to converse with anyone who doesn't speak French.

    Some do not wish to engage with apps such as Google Translate..,.leaving someone like me in a pickle when delays happen and connections missed😳 and new tickets need to be purchased because there is no WIFI to use on ones phone.

    My train was delayed an hour which created a situation of missing a connection. Luckily I figured it out and bought another ticket before the train left the station.

    The terrain was relatively flat for the most part . As we got closer to Lourdes you could se the Pyrenese Mountains topped with snow. Stunning countryside. I also saw a very fast flowing river with kayakers on it.

    It is very tricky getting to Lourdes.The train lines are the only way in and out unless you have a car. I found out by accident that the train line that takes me out will not be operating this weekend 😱
    I had to book a day early to leave and forfeit a train and Pension reservation😳 Oh well, I will be spending an extra day in Burgos👍😉

    After I checked in I went to the cathedral and attended a sung Mass. Absolutely beautiful acoustics with the organ and voices of the priests and congregation.

    Afterwards I had a bite to eat and headed back to the Grotto ( where Bernadette saw the Virgin Mary) for the evening procession. It was a such a feeling of connection with people from all over the world standing with lit candles. There must have been over 200 people and this is the end of the busy season!
    Read more