Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Day 41 Lourdes 765 km

    November 1, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    It felt like I was walking in Nanaimo today as the temperature was 8 C and it was raining. I wore every piece of my merino wool clothing and down vest to keep warm.

    I found a great grocery store and bought some salads and fruit for lunch.

    I visited a church however I cannot recall its name. It had a lot of stained glass windows. The front windows facing the altar were very unique. There were also paintings of each station of the cross. I have never seen anything like it.

    I lit a candle for Les♥️ The candle table was under the picture of Bernadette.

    I then made my way to the Grotto to collect my Holy water and touch the stone in the cave.
    It wasn't too crowded meaning there was not a long line to stand waiting. Afterwards I attended what I thought was an outdoor Mass but was a lineup to do the three things that Bernadette was led to de by Mary:
    Wash your hands with the Holy water
    Wash your face
    And finally drink the water.
    I was allowed to stay for awhile afterwards. Each person was done individually and blessed🙏

    I then went to where there are hundreds of lit candles for those to be remembered. I will post the picture of the prayer that went with it. I lit a candle for Les ♥️

    The cutest thing I heard was a child trying to blow out a candle as if it were on a cake 😃

    I walked up to the crypt at the top of the cathedral. The chapel was beautiful.

    Afterwards I walked up the side of the hill to see the stations of the Cross.

    The nicest part of Lourdes Cathedral grounds is that it is a very large property. The added size gives rise to a park like feel to it. It also helps with the throngs of people they can be spread out quite easily.

    I gave up trying to get a coffee from a bar here ( many are closed for the end of the season) so walked to the train station. It was packed with people!!!

    I was so looking forward to a hot bath/shower tonight except all the tub has is a hand held shower head you have to hold and fill the tub with. There is not a wall attachment to have a shower😓 But the biggest issue is no plug for the tub....and warm water.....not hot😭
    Read more