Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Viana to Ventosa

    October 11, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    To put it simply, at the end of today I am tired and have sore feet.

    I finally had a full night's sleep last night, getting a solid 9 hours. Unfortunately, in the morning I learned that I had tossed and turned for much of the night, disturbing the sleep of the pilgrim in the bunk below me.

    The first leg of today's walk was 9.5km from Viana to Logroño. Passing through a major city like this provided the opportunity for a good breakfast with some fellow pilgrims. A walk into Santa Maria Cathedral was quite breathtaking.

    Having left Logroño, I then faced a 12km walk to Navarrete. This walk gave me time to ponder some observations that I'd made in recent days. For example, for some people this is mostly a solitary experience, either due to introversion or simply by choice. Efforts to greet them can be largely unsuccessful, so I have to acknowledge that not everyone on the Camino is the talking type.

    Also, the Camino is getting quite physical, which requires a mental focus in order to succeed. Many of the pilgrims who did the same 30km yesterday are feeling the effects today. For many, this means a shorter day that finishes in Logroño. For those pushing through to Navarette or Ventosa, the pace is noticeably slower (yours truly included). The message I hear is to challenge yourself, but to also listen to your body, and learn your limits.

    The countryside continues to be interesting, especially as I enter the la Rioja region, famous for its high quality wine. I like vineyards, but how many photos of vineyards are worth sharing?

    A reminder that I had to tell myself today is the importance of filling my water bottle when I come across a fountain. I bypassed one today, which I regretted when running out of water almost 3km short of Navarette. This meant a stop at a deli, enjoying freshly squeezed orange juice and taking a bocadillo for dinner.

    Arriving into Ventosa, I enjoyed the bocadillo while getting some laundry done, met a couple of new pilgrims, and decided on an early night.

    Steps: 43,775
    Distance: 28.8km
    Total Distance walked from St-Jean: 182.6
    Read more